University Presbyterian Church Leadership

For University Presbyterian Church staff contacts please view our staff directory.
To see how our staff is organized, click here.

Session: The Presbyterian Governing Body

Senior Pastor
George Hinman

Executive Pastor
Tim Snow

Richard Greiling

Clerk of Session
Jim Bernard

Session Elders

Elders are active members of the church who serve in government, leadership, and ministry. They are persons of faith, dedication, and good judgment, nominated and elected by the congregation. Elders serve on the church's governing body (called Session), take part in planning committees, assist in worship, serve communion, and help the pastors nurture, teach, and encourage the congregation.

Although elders are elected for a term of three years, once ordained, they are ordained for life, even if they transfer to another PC(USA) church. After their terms of office are finished, elders continue to play an important role in the life of the church by participating in various ministries.

Worship Elders
Gretchen Harrell, 2015
Dan Perrow, 2015
Linda Radach, 2016
Sandi Bishop, 2016
Barbara Barnes, 2017
Tad Schuldt, 2017
Carol Toms, 2017

Outreach Elders
Gregg Hatch, 2015
Tracy Maycock, Union, 2015
Dave Scott, Mission Partnerships and Global Development, 2016
Colin Wilson, 2016
Mary Ehrlich, 2017
Michelle Sarju, 2017

Operations Elders
David Dale, 2015
Greg Schaeffer, 2015
Helen Hall, 2016
Phil Smith, 2016
Carl Pearson, 2017

Community Elders
Marv Meier, Youth Mission & Ministry, 2015
Nathan Keyes, Congregational Life, 2015
Linda Whittlesey, Congregational Life, 2015
Sara Lussy, Children & Family Ministries, 2015
Andy James, Children & Family Ministries, 2016
Diane Thoma, University Ministries, 2016
Terry McNichols, Children & Family Ministries, 2016
Sean Jackson, University Ministries, 2016
Rolf Christensen, Children & Family Ministries, 2016
Ryan Albrecht, University Ministries, 2017
Helen Andersen, Young Adults, Side-by-Side, 2017
Nancy Cahill, Youth Mission & Ministry, 2017
Kevin Gasper, Youth Mission & Ministry, 2017
Gerry Philipsen, Congregational Life, 2017

Click here for a picture roster.

Board of Deacons

A Deacon is someone who loves the Lord and acts upon that love with gifts of service through a variety of ministries, including visiting elderly members; serving Communion to home-bound members; delivering flowers to those who are ill or shut-in; bringing meals to families in need of encouragement; and partnering with urban ministries such as Mary’s Place and Operation Nightwatch to bring Christ’s love and care to others. Deacons and friends assist with the food barrels on the first Sunday of each month.

Some Deacons are part of the Deacon Finance Committee, providing oversight for the Deacon Fund. Several times a year an offering is taken which goes toward the Deacon Fund. This fund allows us to help individuals within our church family and our community who are homeless, hungry, underemployed, struggling single parents, or who have suffered a setback due to unemployment, medical crisis, or other personal trauma.

Ron Clinkenbeard and Linda Glas

Class of 2015
Marcia Barr
Carole Brennan
Pamela Bryant
Ron Clinkenbeard
Mitzi Hasegawa
Corinda LeClair
Donna Liebich
John Liebich
Nancy Martin
Suzanne Mason
Dick Michelson
Lan Remme
Karen Smith
Erica Sweeney
Laurie Vette
Erin Whitney
  Class of 2016
Laurel Ailie
Bev Allen
Marie Avis
Orleen Baugh
Don Belcher
Sheila Belcher
Karan Dawson
Connie Hokanson
Joseph Huang
Laura Johnston
Irvin MacQuarrie
John Mike
Susan Mike
Mary Scott
Bonnie Sellen
Kathy Sterner

  Class of 2017
Janet Bakker
Krista Cook
Kevin Johnson
Karen Sutherland
Louanna Watt

The Church

Directions & Parking
Staff Directory
Union Campus


What We Believe
Church Leadership
Staff and Leadership Resources
Update Your Contact Info


Join Our Email list
Join a small group
Update Your Contact Info
Questions? Email Us


Alive Together Magazine